Recordings by Diane Jarvi

Wild Gardens

Wild Gardens by Diane JarviDiane Jarvi explores the roots and vines, the flowers and the shadows, on her fifth CD release, Wild Gardens (Lupine Records). The tranquility that infuses Diane’s vocal style compellingly traverses the landscape where emotions converge – joyfulness, mourning, hope, rebirth.

Accompanied by her own guitar and kantele (Finnish folk harp), Diane is joined by a stellar roster of Twin Cities musicians on originals, traditional songs and contemporary covers. [Read more...]

Paper Heart

Diane Jarvi's Paper Heart CD coverOn Diane Jarvi’s Paper Heart, you’ll find love letters from France, the poetry of Finland, songs of love, both lost and found, hearts broken and healed.


  • Diane Jarvi, vocals, guitar, kantele
  • Gordy Johnson – bass
  • Marc Anderson – percussion
  • Brian Barnes – guitar, mandolin
  • Dean Magraw – guitar
  • Dan Newton – accordion
  • Clint Hoover – harmonica
©2004 Lupine Records, Lakehead Music/ASCAP [Read more...]

Flying Into Blue

Flying Into Blue by Diane JarviFlying Into Blue is an unconventional collection of songs and lullabies from regions as diverse as Ireland, Mexico, Russian Karelia and Finland, combined with her own fine songwriting and poems set to original music.

Flying Into Blue combines the artistry of her songwriting with her love of world music and poetry. She sings songs in Karelian, Sami, Gaelic and Spanish as well as poetry by Keats, Rossetti, Dickinson and Poe. These are blended with some of her original songs, and features accompaniment by many award-winning instumentalists. [Read more...]


Revontuli by Diane JarviRevontuli or “Northern Lights” covers a variety of music from Finland as well as original compositions and instrumental pieces written for the kantele.

Tangos, waltzes, gypsy music blend together with traditional songs from Karelia and Ostra Bothnia, along with tunes for the 5, 10 and 36 string kantele. [Read more...]

Foreign Winds

Foreign Winds by Diane JarviForeign Winds includes seven of Jarvi’s original progressive folk tunes as well as five songs from Finland. The music on the album ranges from folk ballads to country to tangos.


  • Diane Jarvi: vocals, guitar, kantele
  • Peter Ostroushko: mandolin and fiddle
  • Eugene Friesen: cello
  • Dean Magraw: guitar
  • Arto Järvelä: nickelharp, fiddle
  • Kimmo Pohjonen: accordion
  • Gordon Johnson: bass
©1995 Lupine Records, Lakehead Music/ASCAP [Read more...]

Café Accordion Orchestra – La Zingara

zingaraEleven new tracks with a nod towards the Gypsy lifestyle, from French Manouche to the Bohemian drifter and American cowboy. Featuring special guests Diane Jarvi and Tony Balluff.

Cafe Accordion Orchestra – Berets and Bongos

Berets and Bongos by Cafe Accordion OrchestraDan Newton’s Café Accordion Orchestra is pleased to announce the release of their new album Berets and Bongos. This is the eighth album by the Twin Cities based quintet and is also their most adventurous effort. As the title suggests, there is plenty of that familiar French flair to be found in the form of the musette waltzes lInterdite and Songe d’ Automne, and also some Latin heat in two Cumbias and the chorro masterpiece Santa Morena. [Read more...]

Cafe Accordion Orchestra – Dancing on the Moon

Dancing on the Moon by Cafe Accordion OrchestraDancing on the Moon by Dan Newton’s Cafe Accordian Orchestra features vocals by Diane Jarvi. The music combines Latin, French and Gypsy musical traditions with American Swing.

If you recognize the title of the historic Max Fleischer cartoon from which this album’s title was taken, you’ll understand the charm and joy of Cafe Accordion Orchestra – an “old-school” combo that plays from the heart. [Read more...]