Foreign Winds

Foreign Winds includes seven of Jarvi’s original progressive folk tunes as well as five songs from Finland. The music on the album ranges from folk ballads to country to tangos.

“Her first recording contains songs about, among other subjects, love, war, nature and above all a desire for home. These emotions are communicated with feeling and sensitivity by this songbird, who is yet unknown in Finland. The songs come straight from the heart.” -Markku Torkko in Lapin Kansa


  • Diane Jarvi: vocals, guitar, kantele
  • Peter Ostroushko: mandolin and fiddle
  • Eugene Friesen: cello
  • Dean Magraw: guitar
  • Arto Järvelä: nickelharp, fiddle
  • Kimmo Pohjonen: accordion
  • Gordon Johnson: bass
Diane Jarvi's Foreign WInds CD cover

©1995 Lupine Records, Lakehead Music/ASCAP

To order: print out an order form and send it in.

  1. There Was a Time
  2. Old Finn Hall
  3. Sinisiiro Kultakiiro
  4. Foreign Winds
  5. Metsä Kukkia
  6. Hobo’s Prayer
  7. How Long Love
  8. Kaikk Miä Ilot Unohin
  9. What’s On The Radio
  10. Satumaa
  11. Elämä Juoksuhaudoissa
  12. Blue Summer Day
Recordings by Diane Jarvi
Diane Jarvi with Café Accordion Orchestra