Wild Gardens

Diane Jarvi explores the roots and vines, the flowers and the shadows, on her fifth CD release, Wild Gardens (Lupine Records). The tranquility that infuses Diane’s vocal style compellingly traverses the landscape where emotions converge – joyfulness, mourning, hope, rebirth.

Accompanied by her own guitar and kantele (Finnish folk harp), Diane is joined by a stellar roster of Twin Cities musicians on originals, traditional songs and contemporary covers. The 13 tracks include a rich blend of folk, jazz, tangos and Gypsy sounds – a range matched by a breadth of languages.

Diane is a Minneapolis native whose grandparents all emigrated from Finland, a heritage she has embraced throughout her career. On Wild Gardens, Diane’s poetic tales are sung in English, Finnish, Swedish and Occitan (a language of Medieval French troubadours).

Wild Gardens by Diane Jarvi

©2007 Lupine Records, Lakehead Music/ASCAP

To order: print out an order form and send it in.


  • Diane Jarvi, vocals, guitar, kantele
  • Gordy Johnson – bass
  • Marc Anderson – percussion
  • Brian Barnes – guitar, mandolin
  • Dean Magraw – guitar
  • Dan Newton – accordion
  • Clint Hoover – harmonica
  • Ralph Tutilla – jouhikko
  • Anna Vazquez – cello
  1. This is Rain
  2. Ò Ma Bela Cigala
  3. Kehrääjä
  4. Little Leatherwing Bat
  5. Return
  6. To The Sea
  7. Tähdet Meren Yllä
  8. Rannalla
  9. Solen Såg Jag
  10. Wild Mountain Thyme
  11. Where I Live
  12. Tuoksuvat Tuomien
  13. You Are My Flower
Recordings by Diane Jarvi
Diane Jarvi with Café Accordion Orchestra